ŕ—»Ū  12 Dec 2019

  • Media Center
  • Press Room
  • Press Releases
  • Press Releases

    1. Press Releases
    2. Press Kits
    3. PhotoGallery
    4. Webcasts
    5. Reports and Documents
    6. Biographies

    Egypt Wins Membership of ATU Administrative Council

    Nairobi, Kenya, 23 August 2018

    Egypt, represented by the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT), Algeria and Tunisia have won the membership of the Administrative Council of the African Telecommunications Union (ATU) for the North Africa seats, during 2019-2022.

    The elections were held with the participation of the 45-member states during the 5th Ordinary Session of the African Telecommunication Union (ATU) Conference of Plenipotentiaries (CPL-18), organized in Nairobi, Kenya, during August 15-17. CPL-18 discussed several vital issues on outlining ATU strategy during the coming four years.

    The council allows its members to revise the ATU activities and estimate the work of the Secretariat tasked with the ATU daily activities, besides determining the priorities of the ATU via outlining an annual plan which is approved by the members during periodical meetings, held by the ATU for the Councilís member states.

    Meanwhile, MCIT will participate in the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Study Group 5 (SG5) meeting on ICTs and environment, organized by the ITU, on September 17-21, in Switzerland, Geneva.

    The meeting will discuss several issues pertaining to developing a plan on reducing electronic wastes by 2020, and formulate the guidelines and standards required for recycling these e-wastes.
    Egypt, represented by MCIT, occupies the position of Vice-Chairman of Study Group 5 and the Rapporteur of Question 7 on circular economy including e-waste.

    Media Contact

    For media-related inquiries, please contact our media relations representative.

    Affiliate Organizations Related Institutions
    Contact Us  |  Feedback  | Site Map  |  DisclaimerPrivacy Statement  |  MCIT RSS Copyright Ministry of Communications and Information Technology 1999-2019. All rights reserved