ÚŃČí  4 Aug 2020

  • International Relations
  • International Organizations
  • International Organizations

    1. Regional Cooperation
    1. Bilateral Cooperation
    1. International Organizations
    1. Development Partners
    1. Overcoming COVID-19: Stay Connected


    Last Updated: 27 Jun 2019
    The Economic Commission for Western Asia (ECWA) was established on 9 August 1973 pursuant to the Economic and Social Council’s resolution 1818 (LV). The purpose of setting up the Commission was to raise the level of economic activity in member countries and strengthen cooperation among them. It was also intended to meet the need of the countries in Western Asia for the services of a regional economic commission to promote the development efforts in the region. In recognition of the social component of its work, the Commission was entrusted with new responsibilities in the social field by virtue of Economic and Social Council resolution 69/ 1985 of July 1985. Its name therefore became the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA). ESCWA has been located in a number of Arab capitals. It started in Beirut (1974- 1982), moved to Baghdad (1982- 1991), then to Amman (1991- 1997), and returned to Beirut in 1997, its permanent headquarters.


    ESCWA comprises 17 Arab countries in Western Asia: Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen.


    § Support economic and social development in the countries of the region
    § Promote cooperation between the countries of the region
    § Encourage interaction between member countries
    § promote the exchange of experience, best practice and lessons learned
    § Achieve regional integration between member countries
    § Ensure interaction between Western Asia and other regions of the world
    § Familiarize the outside world with the circumstances and needs of the countries in the region


    ESCWA provides a framework for the formulation and harmonization of sectoral policies for member countries, a platform for congress and coordination, a home for expertise and knowledge, and an information observatory. ESCWA activities are coordinated with the divisions and main offices of the Headquarters of the United Nations, specialized agencies, and international and regional organizations, including the League of Arab States and its subsidiary bodies, and the Gulf Cooperation Council. Cooperation between the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT) and ESCWA in the digital content framework included, among others, signing a Letter of Understanding (LoU) between MCIT and ESCWA in 2014, through which the Technology Innovation and Entrepreneurship Center (TIEC) and ESCWA launched the Start IT – DAC competition. Winners in Start IT–DAC were offered an incubation package in one of TIEC's incubators. This in addition to organizing workshops

    Press Services

    Related Publications
    MCIT Yearbook 2019
    Mar 2020
    This yearbook brings together highlights of 2019, a year in which MCIT successfully realized numerous activities and achievements. The 2019 yearbook marks new and continuing initiatives, events and other calendar highlights relevant to Egypt’s progress in the ICT field both on the local and international levels.

    Affiliate Organizations Related Institutions
    Contact Us  |  Feedback  | Site Map  |  DisclaimerPrivacy Statement  |  MCIT RSS Copyright Ministry of Communications and Information Technology 1999-2020. All rights reserved