UN Entities/Organizations

The UN system recognizes that information and communications technologies have the potential to provide new solutions to sustainable development challenges, particularly in the context of globalization, and can foster sustained, inclusive and equitable economic growth and sustainable development.

In addition, these solutions can promote competitiveness, access to information and knowledge, trade and development, poverty eradication and social inclusion that will help to expedite the integration of all countries, especially developing countries and the least developed countries, into the global economy.

Being an active member in the UN system, MCIT plays an effective role in several UN agencies including the main UN entity in charge of ICT; namely the International Telecommunication Union (ITU). Whether in responding to the call for bridging digital divides, encouraging and strengthening continuing cooperation between and among stakeholders from both developed and developing countries, MCIT is keen as well on developing the digital economy, being an important and growing part of the global economy.

Egypt is aware of capacity-building mechanisms and opportunities from the entire United Nations system. In this regard, it works hand in hand with the United Nations funds and programs and specialized agencies, within their respective mandates and strategic plans, to contribute to the implementation of the outcomes of the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS), and emphasizes the importance of allocating adequate resources.

Egypt is in full alignment with the UN vision, recognizes the need to harness the potential of information and communications technologies as critical enablers of sustainable development and to overcome digital divides. It stresses that capacity-building for the productive use of such technologies should be given due consideration in the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

ITU

The International Telecommunication Union (ITU) was founded in Paris in 1865 as the International Telegraph Union. It took its present name in 1934, and in 1947 became a specialized agency of the United Nations. Although its first area of expertise was the telegraph, the work of the ITU now covers the whole ICT sector, from digital broadcasting to the Internet, and from mobile technologies to 3D TV.

An organization of public-private partnership since its inception, the ITU currently has a membership of 193 countries as well as ICT regulators, leading academic institutions and some 700 private sector companies. The ITU is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland, and has 12 regional and area offices around the world.

Egypt has been an active member of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) since its establishment. Egypt strongly supports the mission and the pivotal role of the organization through participation in ITU programs and projects, and promotion of ITU goals nationally and internationally.

Member of the ITU council since its inception in 1973, Egypt won its membership in ten rounds out of twelve, helping Egypt defend African and Arab region stances and interests. Egypt is one of the longest serving members of the ITU Council and is also represented on the council by 16 private sector companies.

Egypt is a founding member of the “Connect the World” initiative and has chaired the Council Working Group on International Telecommunication Regulations.

Egypt is also an active participant in ITU Telecommunication Development Sector (ITU-D), ITU-Telecommunication Standardization Sector (ITU-T) and ITU Radiocommunication Sector (ITU- R).

Egypt also hosts the ITU Arab Regional Office and works hand in hand with the team in the interest of the region.

Related News

Copyright Ministry of Communications and Information Technology 1999-2021. All rights reserved
Content

هيئات ومنظمات الأمم المتحدة

تدرك منظومة الأمم المتحدة أن تكنولوجيات المعلومات والاتصالات لديها القدرة على تقديم حلول جديدة لتحديات التنمية المستدامة، لا سيما في سياق العولمة، كما يمكنها أن تُعزز النمو الاقتصادي المستدام والشامل والمنصف وتُدعم التنمية المستدامة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يُمكن لهذه الحلول تعزيز القدرة التنافسية، والوصول إلى المعلومات والمعرفة، والتجارة والتنمية، والقضاء على الفقر، والإدماج الاجتماعي الذي من شأنه أن يُساعد على تسريع اندماج جميع البلدان، ولا سيما البلدان النامية والبلدان الأقل نموًا، في الاقتصاد العالمي.

وتؤدي وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات دورًا فعالًا في العديد من وكالات الأمم المتحدة، كونها عضوًا نشطًا في منظومة الأمم المتحدة، بما في ذلك الكيان الرئيسي للأمم المتحدة المسؤول عن تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات؛ وهو الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات. وسواء في الاستجابة للدعوة إلى سد الفجوات الرقمية، وتشجيع وتعزيز التعاون المستمر بين أصحاب المصلحة من البلدان المتقدمة والنامية على حد سواء، تحرص وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات أيضًا على تطوير الاقتصاد الرقمي، باعتباره جزءًا مهمًا في الاقتصاد العالمي.

ومصر على دراية جيدة بآليات بناء القدرات والفرص المتاحة من منظومة الأمم المتحدة بأسرها. وفي هذا الصدد، تعمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع صناديق الأمم المتحدة وبرامجها ووكالاتها المتخصصة، في إطار ولاية كل منها وخططها الاستراتيجية، للمساهمة في تنفيذ نتائج القمة العالمية لمجتمع المعلومات، والتأكيد على أهمية تخصيص الموارد الكافية.

وتتماشى رؤية مصر على نحو كامل مع رؤية الأمم المتحدة، وتدرك الحاجة إلى تسخير إمكانات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات باعتبارها عوامل تمكين أساسية للتنمية المستدامة وللتغلب على الفجوات الرقمية. وتشدد على أن بناء القدرات من أجل الاستخدام المُنتج لهذه التكنولوجيات ينبغي أن يُولى له الاعتبار الواجب في تنفيذ خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030.

الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات

تأسس الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات في باريس عام 1865 باسم الاتحاد الدولي للتلغراف. ثم أطلق عليه المسمى الحالي عام 1934، وأصبح ضمن وكالات الأمم المتحدة المتخصصة عام 1947. ومع أن التلغراف كان أول مجالات تخصصه، تشمل أعمال الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات في الوقت الراهن قطاع تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات بأكمله، من البث الرقمي إلى الإنترنت ومن التكنولوجيات المتنقلة إلى التلفاز ثلاثي الأبعاد.

يضم الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات في عضويته حاليًا بوصفه منظمة شراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص منذ إنشائه 193 بلدًا فضلًا عن الهيئات التنظيمية لتكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات والمؤسسات الأكاديمية الرائدة ونحو 700 شركة من شركات القطاع الخاص. يقع المقر الرئيسي للاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات في مدينة جينيف بسويسرا، وله 12 مكتبًا إقليميا حول العالم.

مصر عضو نشط بالاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات منذ إنشائه. وتدعم مصر بشدة المهمة والدور المحوري للاتحاد عبر المشاركة في برامجه ومشاريعه وتعمل على تعزيز أهدافه على الصعيدين الإقليمي والدولي.

وتُعد مصر واحدة من أقدم أعضاء مجلس الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات منذ تكوينه في عام 1973، كما أنها ممثلة في المجلس بستة عشر شركة من شركات القطاع الخاص. وفازت مصر بعضوية المجلس في 10 دورات من أصل 12 دورة، الأمر الذي مكن مصر من تأدية دور ريادي وهو مساندة مواقف الدول النامية واهتماماتها ومصالحها وبالأخص الدول العربية والأفريقية.

كما أن مصر عضوٌ مؤسسٌ لمبادرة توصيل العالم وترأست فريق عمل المجلس بشأن لوائح الاتصالات الدولية.

وتشارك مصر أيضًا بفاعلية في أنشطة قطاع تنمية الاتصالات، وقطاع تقييس الاتصالات، وقطاع الاتصالات الراديوية بالاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات.

وتستضيف مصر أيضًا المكتب الإقليمي العربي للاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات وتعمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع الفريق لخدمة مصلحة المنطقة.

أخبار ذات صلة

حقوق الملكية© وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات ١٩٩٩-٢٠٢٢ جميع الحقوق محفوظة.
Content