UN Entities/Organizations

The UN system recognizes that information and communications technologies have the potential to provide new solutions to sustainable development challenges, particularly in the context of globalization, and can foster sustained, inclusive and equitable economic growth and sustainable development.

In addition, these solutions can promote competitiveness, access to information and knowledge, trade and development, poverty eradication and social inclusion that will help to expedite the integration of all countries, especially developing countries and the least developed countries, into the global economy.

Being an active member in the UN system, MCIT plays an effective role in several UN agencies including the main UN entity in charge of ICT; namely the International Telecommunication Union (ITU). Whether in responding to the call for bridging digital divides, encouraging and strengthening continuing cooperation between and among stakeholders from both developed and developing countries, MCIT is keen as well on developing the digital economy, being an important and growing part of the global economy.

Egypt is aware of capacity-building mechanisms and opportunities from the entire United Nations system. In this regard, it works hand in hand with the United Nations funds and programs and specialized agencies, within their respective mandates and strategic plans, to contribute to the implementation of the outcomes of the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS), and emphasizes the importance of allocating adequate resources.

Egypt is in full alignment with the UN vision, recognizes the need to harness the potential of information and communications technologies as critical enablers of sustainable development and to overcome digital divides. It stresses that capacity-building for the productive use of such technologies should be given due consideration in the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

UNESCO

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) works to promote dialogue among civilizations, cultures and peoples in support of global visions of sustainable development encompassing observance of human rights, mutual respect and the alleviation of poverty.

UNESCO mission is to contribute to the building of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue through education, the sciences, culture, communication and information. The organization focuses, in particular, on Africa and gender equality, in addition to a number of overarching objectives:

  • Attaining quality education for all and lifelong learning
  • Mobilizing science knowledge and policy for sustainable development
  • Addressing emerging social and ethical challenges
  • Fostering cultural diversity, intercultural dialogue and a culture of peace
  • Building inclusive knowledge societies through information and communication

UNESCO is working to promote the use of ICTs to support freedom of expression and to enrich cultural activities. The organization has also been assigned to follow up on the output of the World Summit on the Information Society in cooperation with the International Telecommunication Union and the United Nations Development Program.

UNESCO has 195 members and eight associate members. It has its headquarters in Paris and more than 50 field offices around the world.

MCIT takes part in UNESCO General Conference. The General Conference consists of the representatives of UNESCO Member States. It meets every two years, and is attended by Member States and Associate Members, together with observers for non-Member States, intergovernmental organizations and non-governmental organizations (NGOs).

The General Conference determines the policies and the main lines of work of the Organization. Its duty is to set UNESCO programs and budget. It also elects the Members of the Executive Board and appoints, every four years, the Director-General.

In 2015, Egypt became a member of the UNESCO Information for All Programme (IFAP). This is an intergovernmental program with the objective to harness the new opportunities of the information age to create equitable societies through better access to information.

The overall goal of IFAP is to help UNESCO Member States develop and implement national information policies and knowledge strategies in a world increasingly using ICT. In order to achieve this goal, the Programme concentrates its efforts on the following six priority areas:

  1. Information for development
  2. Information literacy
  3. Information preservation
  4. Information ethics
  5. Information accessibility
  6. Multilingualism

MCIT also takes part in UNESCO National Commissions Technical committee.

In addition, Egypt is an active member of the advisory working group tasked with discussing the drafting of an international technical document on the ethics of AI. The Advisor to the ICT Minister for Artificial Intelligence (AI) was nominated a member of UNESCO Ad Hoc Expert Group (AHEG) for the Recommendation on the Ethics of AI, then elected its Vice-Chairperson.

Copyright Ministry of Communications and Information Technology 1999-2021. All rights reserved
Content

هيئات ومنظمات الأمم المتحدة

تدرك منظومة الأمم المتحدة أن تكنولوجيات المعلومات والاتصالات لديها القدرة على تقديم حلول جديدة لتحديات التنمية المستدامة، لا سيما في سياق العولمة، كما يمكنها أن تُعزز النمو الاقتصادي المستدام والشامل والمنصف وتُدعم التنمية المستدامة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يُمكن لهذه الحلول تعزيز القدرة التنافسية، والوصول إلى المعلومات والمعرفة، والتجارة والتنمية، والقضاء على الفقر، والإدماج الاجتماعي الذي من شأنه أن يُساعد على تسريع اندماج جميع البلدان، ولا سيما البلدان النامية والبلدان الأقل نموًا، في الاقتصاد العالمي.

وتؤدي وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات دورًا فعالًا في العديد من وكالات الأمم المتحدة، كونها عضوًا نشطًا في منظومة الأمم المتحدة، بما في ذلك الكيان الرئيسي للأمم المتحدة المسؤول عن تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات؛ وهو الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات. وسواء في الاستجابة للدعوة إلى سد الفجوات الرقمية، وتشجيع وتعزيز التعاون المستمر بين أصحاب المصلحة من البلدان المتقدمة والنامية على حد سواء، تحرص وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات أيضًا على تطوير الاقتصاد الرقمي، باعتباره جزءًا مهمًا في الاقتصاد العالمي.

ومصر على دراية جيدة بآليات بناء القدرات والفرص المتاحة من منظومة الأمم المتحدة بأسرها. وفي هذا الصدد، تعمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع صناديق الأمم المتحدة وبرامجها ووكالاتها المتخصصة، في إطار ولاية كل منها وخططها الاستراتيجية، للمساهمة في تنفيذ نتائج القمة العالمية لمجتمع المعلومات، والتأكيد على أهمية تخصيص الموارد الكافية.

وتتماشى رؤية مصر على نحو كامل مع رؤية الأمم المتحدة، وتدرك الحاجة إلى تسخير إمكانات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات باعتبارها عوامل تمكين أساسية للتنمية المستدامة وللتغلب على الفجوات الرقمية. وتشدد على أن بناء القدرات من أجل الاستخدام المُنتج لهذه التكنولوجيات ينبغي أن يُولى له الاعتبار الواجب في تنفيذ خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030.

منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة

تعمل منظمة الأمم المتحدة للتربية والعلم والثقافة (اليونسكو) على تعزيز الحوار بين الحضارات والثقافات والشعوب دعمًا للرؤى العالمية للتنمية المستدامة التي تشمل مراعاة حقوق الإنسان والاحترام المتبادل وتخفيف حدة الفقر.

وتتمثل مهمة منظمة اليونسكو في الإسهام في إقامة السلام والقضاء على الفقر وفي التنمية المستدامة والحوار بين الثقافات من خلال التعليم والعلوم والثقافة والاتصالات والمعلومات. وتركز المنظمة على عدد من الأهداف الشاملة:

  • حصول الجميع على تعليم جيد وتعلم مدى الحياة
  • حشد المعارف والسياسات العلمية من أجل التنمية المستدامة
  • مواجهة التحديات الاجتماعية والأخلاقية الناشئة
  • تعزيز التنوع الثقافي والحوار بين الثقافات وثقافة السلام
  • بناء مجتمعات معرفة شاملة من خلال المعلومات والاتصالات

تعمل منظمة اليونسكو على تعزيز استخدام تكنولوجيات المعلومات والاتصالات لدعم حرية التعبير وإثراء الأنشطة الثقافية. كما كُلّفت المنظمة بمتابعة نتائج القمة العالمية لمجتمع المعلومات بالتعاون مع الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي.

تضم منظمة اليونسكو 195 عضوًا وثمانية أعضاء منتسبين. ويقع مقرها الرئيسي في مدينة باريس ولها أكثر من 50 مكتبًا ميدانيًا حول العالم.

وتشارك وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات في "المؤتمر العام لليونسكو" والذي يضم ممثلي الدول الأعضاء في اليونسكو وينعقد مرة كل عامين ويحضره الدول الأعضاء والأعضاء المنتسبون، إلى جانب مراقبين من الدول غير الأعضاء والمنظمات الحكومية الدولية والمنظمات غير الحكومية.

ويختص المؤتمر بوضع السياسات والخطوط الرئيسية لعمل اليونسكو وأيضًا تحديد برامج المنظمة وميزانيتها، كما ينتخب أعضاء المجلس التنفيذي ويعين المدير العام كل أربع سنوات.

وفي عام 2015 أصبحت مصر عضوًا في "برنامج اليونسكو الإعلام للجميع" وهو برنامج حكومي دولي يهدف إلى تسخير الفرص الجديدة في عصر المعلومات لخلق مجتمعات منصفة من خلال تحسين الوصول إلى المعلومات.

ويهدف البرنامج بصفة رئيسية إلى مساعدة الدول الأعضاء في اليونسكو على تنفيذ وتطوير سياسات المعلومات واستراتيجيات المعرفة الوطنية، في عالم يستخدم تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات بشكل متزايد. ولتحقيق هذا الهدف يولي البرنامج أولوية خاصة للمجالات الستة التالية:

  • المعلومات من أجل التنمية
  • محو الأمية المعلوماتية
  • حفظ المعلومات
  • أخلاقيات المعلومات
  • الوصول إلى المعلومات
  • تعدد اللغات

وتشارك وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات أيضًا في اللجنة الفنية للجان الوطنية لليونسكو.

وتُعد مصر عضوًا فعالًا في فريق العمل الاستشاري المُكلف بمناقشة إعداد وثيقة تقنية دولية بشأن أخلاقيات الذكاء الاصطناعي والتابع لليونسكو، كما تم ترشيح مستشار وزير الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات للذكاء الاصطناعي عضوًا في فريق العمل المعني بتوصية أخلاقيات الذكاء الاصطناعي والمكون من 24 خبير عالمي في مجال الذكاء الاصطناعي، ثم تم اختيارها نائب رئيس الفريق.

أخبار ذات صلة

حقوق الملكية© وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات ١٩٩٩-٢٠٢٢ جميع الحقوق محفوظة.
Content