UN Entities/Organizations

The UN system recognizes that information and communications technologies have the potential to provide new solutions to sustainable development challenges, particularly in the context of globalization, and can foster sustained, inclusive and equitable economic growth and sustainable development.

In addition, these solutions can promote competitiveness, access to information and knowledge, trade and development, poverty eradication and social inclusion that will help to expedite the integration of all countries, especially developing countries and the least developed countries, into the global economy.

Being an active member in the UN system, MCIT plays an effective role in several UN agencies including the main UN entity in charge of ICT; namely the International Telecommunication Union (ITU). Whether in responding to the call for bridging digital divides, encouraging and strengthening continuing cooperation between and among stakeholders from both developed and developing countries, MCIT is keen as well on developing the digital economy, being an important and growing part of the global economy.

Egypt is aware of capacity-building mechanisms and opportunities from the entire United Nations system. In this regard, it works hand in hand with the United Nations funds and programs and specialized agencies, within their respective mandates and strategic plans, to contribute to the implementation of the outcomes of the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS), and emphasizes the importance of allocating adequate resources.

Egypt is in full alignment with the UN vision, recognizes the need to harness the potential of information and communications technologies as critical enablers of sustainable development and to overcome digital divides. It stresses that capacity-building for the productive use of such technologies should be given due consideration in the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

ESCWA

The Economic Commission for Western Asia (ECWA) was established on 9 August 1973, pursuant to the Economic and Social Council’s resolution 1818 (LV). The purpose of setting up the Commission was to raise the level of economic activity in member countries and strengthen cooperation among them. It was also intended to meet the need of the countries in Western Asia for the services of a regional economic commission to promote the development efforts in the region.

In recognition of the social component of its work, the Commission was entrusted with new responsibilities in the social field by virtue of Economic and Social Council resolution 69/ 1985 of July 1985. Its name, therefore, became the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA). ESCWA has been located in a number of Arab capitals. It started in Beirut (1974- 1982), moved to Baghdad (1982- 1991), then to Amman (1991- 1997), and returned to Beirut in 1997, its permanent headquarters.

ESCWA comprises 20 Arab States: Algeria, Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania, Oman, State of Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates and Yemen.

ESCWA provides a framework for the formulation and harmonization of sectorial policies for member countries, a platform for congress and coordination, a home for expertise and knowledge, and an information observatory. ESCWA activities are coordinated with the divisions and main offices of the Headquarters of the United Nations, specialized agencies, and international and regional organizations, including the League of Arab States and its subsidiary bodies, and the Gulf Cooperation Council.

Copyright Ministry of Communications and Information Technology 1999-2021. All rights reserved
Content

هيئات ومنظمات الأمم المتحدة

تدرك منظومة الأمم المتحدة أن تكنولوجيات المعلومات والاتصالات لديها القدرة على تقديم حلول جديدة لتحديات التنمية المستدامة، لا سيما في سياق العولمة، كما يمكنها أن تُعزز النمو الاقتصادي المستدام والشامل والمنصف وتُدعم التنمية المستدامة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يُمكن لهذه الحلول تعزيز القدرة التنافسية، والوصول إلى المعلومات والمعرفة، والتجارة والتنمية، والقضاء على الفقر، والإدماج الاجتماعي الذي من شأنه أن يُساعد على تسريع اندماج جميع البلدان، ولا سيما البلدان النامية والبلدان الأقل نموًا، في الاقتصاد العالمي.

وتؤدي وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات دورًا فعالًا في العديد من وكالات الأمم المتحدة، كونها عضوًا نشطًا في منظومة الأمم المتحدة، بما في ذلك الكيان الرئيسي للأمم المتحدة المسؤول عن تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات؛ وهو الاتحاد الدولي للاتصالات. وسواء في الاستجابة للدعوة إلى سد الفجوات الرقمية، وتشجيع وتعزيز التعاون المستمر بين أصحاب المصلحة من البلدان المتقدمة والنامية على حد سواء، تحرص وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات أيضًا على تطوير الاقتصاد الرقمي، باعتباره جزءًا مهمًا في الاقتصاد العالمي.

ومصر على دراية جيدة بآليات بناء القدرات والفرص المتاحة من منظومة الأمم المتحدة بأسرها. وفي هذا الصدد، تعمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع صناديق الأمم المتحدة وبرامجها ووكالاتها المتخصصة، في إطار ولاية كل منها وخططها الاستراتيجية، للمساهمة في تنفيذ نتائج القمة العالمية لمجتمع المعلومات، والتأكيد على أهمية تخصيص الموارد الكافية.

وتتماشى رؤية مصر على نحو كامل مع رؤية الأمم المتحدة، وتدرك الحاجة إلى تسخير إمكانات تكنولوجيا المعلومات والاتصالات باعتبارها عوامل تمكين أساسية للتنمية المستدامة وللتغلب على الفجوات الرقمية. وتشدد على أن بناء القدرات من أجل الاستخدام المُنتج لهذه التكنولوجيات ينبغي أن يُولى له الاعتبار الواجب في تنفيذ خطة التنمية المستدامة لعام 2030.

اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغربي آسيا

أسست اللجنة الاقتصادية لغربي آسيا (الإكوا) في 9 أغسطس 1973 بموجب قرار المجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي رقم 1818 (LV) ، وكان الغرض من إنشاء اللجنة هو تحسين مستوى النشاط الاقتصادي في الدول الأعضاء وتعزيز التعاون بينها، كما تهدف أيضًا إلى تلبية احتياجات الدول في غرب آسيا للحصول على خدمات لجنة اقتصادية إقليمية تعزز جهود التنمية في المنطقة.

وتقديرًا للدور الاجتماعي لعمل اللجنة، تم إسناد مسؤوليات جديدة للجنة في المجال الاجتماعي وذلك بموجب قرار المجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي رقم 69/1985 في يوليو 1985. وأصبح اسمها بالتالي اللجنة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لغربي آسيا (الإسكوا)، وانتقل المقر الرئيسي للجنة في عدد من العواصم العربية، حيث بدأ في بيروت (1974- 1982)، ثم انتقل إلى بغداد (1982- 1991)، ثم إلى عمان (1991- 1997)، ثم استقر في بيروت مرة أخرى عام 1997، وأصبح مقرها الدائم.

وتضم الإسكوا 20 دولة عربية وهي: الأردن، والإمارات العربية المتحدة، وتونس، والجزائر، والجمهورية العربية السورية، والصومال، والسودان، والصومال، وعمان، وقطر، والكويت، ولبنان، وليبيا، والمغرب، ومصر، والمملكة العربية السعودية، وموريتانيا، والسودان، واليمن.

وتوفر الإسكوا إطارًا لصياغة السياسات القطاعية للبلدان الأعضاء ومواءمتها، وتُعد منبرًا للالتقاء والتنسيق، وبيتًا للخبرات والمعرفة، ومرصدًا للمعلومات. ويتم تنفيذ أنشطة الإسكوا من خلال التنسيق بين كل الأقسام والمكاتب الرئيسية في مقر الأمم المتحدة والوكالات المتخصصة والمنظمات الدولية والإقليمية، ولا سيما جامعة الدول العربية والهيئات التابعة لها ومجلس التعاون الخليجي.

أخبار ذات صلة

حقوق الملكية© وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات ١٩٩٩-٢٠٢٢ جميع الحقوق محفوظة.
Content