4 July 2021
Egypt Chairs AU STC-CICT Bureau Meeting

Egypt, represented by the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT), is chairing the Meeting of the African Union (AU) Specialized Technical Committee on Communication and Information Communications Technology (STC-CICT) Bureau, held on July 5-6.
The meeting is organized in two sessions, an Expert Session on July 5, and a Ministerial Session on July 6. The meeting will review and assess the resolutions, decisions, recommendations and other outcomes of the Ministerial Session of STC-CICT Third Ordinary Session (STC-CICT-3), held in Sharm El Sheikh in October 2019.
The AU STCs were established under Article 25 of 1991’s African Economic Community Treaty (the Abuja Treaty) that included establishing specialized committees, represented by AU Member States, on different technical and economic fields to work in close collaboration with the AU Commission (AUC) and Regional Economic Communities (RECs) to coordinate different African initiatives and projects to help accelerate economic integration among African countries. In 2015, the AU Summit adopted a decision to activate the STCs role, according to which the STC on ICT was established, with the communication theme added to the committee. The first ordinary session of STC-CICT took place in 2015, at AUC headquarters, in Addis Ababa.
It is worth mentioning that during STC-CICT-3, Egypt was elected Chair of STC-CICT Bureau, for two years, from 2019 to 2021, while Burundi, Malawi, Sierra Leone and Djibouti were elected members of the Bureau.

To read the ICT Minister’s speech during the Meeting, kindly click here.
Copyright Ministry of Communications and Information Technology 1999-2022. All rights reserved