Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
26 October 2019
ICT Minister Witnesses Third Ordinary Session of AU STC on Communication, ICT Closing Ceremony

The closing ceremony of the Third Ordinary Session of the African Union (AU) Specialized Technical Committee (STC) on Communication and ICT (CCICT-3), hosted in Sharm El Sheikh, on October 22-26, was held today, chaired by the Minister of Communications and Information Technology Amr Talaat and the AU Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy Amani Abou-Zeid.

The ceremony was attended by 20 African ICT ministers, a number of experts and representatives of the AU and ICT organizations.

Talaat stated that Egypt looks forward to coordinate with the African countries and work with relevant international entities and friend countries to adopt a number of initiatives for cooperation in ICTs to attain sustainable development. This is in addition to coming out with Sharm El Sheikh Charter 2019, as the Session’s outcome to the summit of the African heads of state and governments, not only as a work plan, but also as a real-life achievement.

The ICT Minister thanked the delegations for their effective participation and keenness on developing unified views on key topics pertaining to ICT, that contribute to developing Africa. He called on the Member States and the AU Commission (AUC) to fulfill their commitments through announcing Sharm El Sheikh Charter 2019.

Moreover, Talaat highlighted Egypt’s appreciation of the efforts exerted for attaining the digital transformation agenda in Africa, which requires adjusting ICT policies and developing the ICT infrastructure. This is in addition to discussing high priority topics such as cybersecurity, Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Internet governance, in international events.

At the end of his speech, the ICT Minister referred to Sharm El Sheikh’s hosting of the World Radiocommunication Conference 2019 (WRC-19). He hoped that Africa participates effectively in discussing the topics featured in this international event that will discuss the policies governing modern communication technologies.

On the sidelines of the Session, Talaat held a number of bilateral meetings with ICT ministers and officials in AU African Member States. He met with the Minister of Post, Information Technology and Communication in Algeria Houda-Imane Faraoun. They shared views on a number of ICT topics, on both the Arab and African levels, as well as Egypt’s unique experience in building technological capacities.

At the end of the meeting, Talaat called on Algeria to participate in the African App Launchpad (AAL) initiative and the capacity building programs that Egypt is carrying out to serve the African people.

The ICT Minister also met with the Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research in Mauritania Salem Mohamed El Abd, where they discussed specialized e-learning platforms in ICTs. Talaat asserted that Egypt welcomes Mauritanian students and trainees in these programs.

In addition, Talaat met with the Minister of Communications in Lesotho Thesele Maseribane who highlighted his country’s keenness on leveraging Egyptian expertise in digital and technical education through digital platforms, and the participation of Lesothan young people in AAL.

Moreover, the ICT Minister met with the Ambassador of Cameroon. They discussed the Egyptian initiatives in advanced technology, digital empowerment, and the ways to make them available to all the African people.

Talaat also met with the Minister of Communications in Ghana Ursula Owusu-Ekuful. They discussed enhancing bilateral and regional cooperation in capacity building in cybersecurity and data science, as well as encouraging youth, especially girls, to use ICTs.

The Third Ordinary Session is a vital link for presenting Egypt’s efforts in light of its chairmanship of the AU, to intensify technical and political consultation in one of the key priorities in Agenda 2063, namely digital transformation, as well as continuing the coordination and consultation with the African countries.

Copyright Ministry of Communications and Information Technology 1999-2023. All rights reserved